Andreas Schieder - Co-Chair

Andreas Schieder is a member of the European Parliament and the Head of the Austrian SPÖ-EU-Delegation.

Before that, he served as parliamentary leader of the Social Democratic Party in the Austrian Parliament. He was also state secretary in the Ministry of Finance from 2008 to 2013.

Schieder holds a master's degree in economics from the University of Vienna.




                                    Sergej Stanichev - Co-Chair

Sergei Stanishev holds a PhD in History. He was a visiting fellow in International Relations at the London School of Economics and Political Science. Prior to his political career he worked as a journalist.

In 1996 he became Head of the foreign policy and international relations department of the Bulgarian Socialist Party. In 2001 he was elected Member of the Bulgarian Parliament. Since December 2001 he has been Chairman of the National Council of the Bulgarian Socialist Party. He was re-elected as Party Chair in 2002, 2005 and 2009. From 2002 to 2009 he was a member of the PES Presidency. Sergei Stanishev was Prime Minister of Bulgaria from 2005 to 2009. During his term as Prime Minister Bulgaria became a member of the European Union. Currently he is a Member of Parliament and Chairman of the Parliamentary Group of the Coalition for Bulgaria.

He has written more than 50 publications on foreign policy issues in Bulgarian and international periodicals. In 2009 he published the book “Because we are socialists”.

Since November 2011 he is President of the Party of the Euoprean Socialists.